Skip to Main Content

Go Falcons !

Wylie E. Groves High School

Menu

Go Falcons !

Wylie E. Groves High School

Go Falcons !

Wylie E. Groves High School

Go Falcons !


Wylie E. Groves High School



Announcements and Important Events

Announcement

Posted 1 week ago @ 4:03PM

2024 Fall Tryout and Off Season Conditioning Information

Fall sports start on Monday, August 12th. Fall sports are: Football, Boys Water Polo, Girls Golf, Girls Swim & Dive, Volleyball, Boys and Girls Cross Country, Boys Tennis, Boys Soccer, Sideline Cheer, and Pompon.

BEFORE your child participates in tryouts in August, in any athletic program, they must meet all of the Athletic Requirements. ALL Athletic Requirements and the Pay to Participate/Online Registration link will be available on the Athletic Website www.grovesfalcons.com under the Announcement tab before August 1.  We have moved our online registration to a new format, Final Forms.  There are several examples of Final Form’s Registration on YouTube if you would like to familiarize yourself before you register your child. We will also have informational video links available on our athletic website once we have our registration available.

If you have any questions, please contact Diedra Righter at drighter@birmingham.k12.mi.us

FOOTBALL: Head Coach Brendan Flaherty. Email address is bflaherty2@birmingham.k12.mi.us  Off Season Conditioning starts June 11th and will be every Tuesday and Thursday from 8:00 – 1:00. Players need to be prepared to do conditioning in the weight room and on the football field. The team camp at Groves will be July 22 – 26th.  Players leave for Football Camp on August 11th. More information can be found on the Football website https://www.grovesfootball.com/home

BOYS TENNIS: Head Coach Robert Chonoles. Email address is robert37371@gmail.com Varsity Tryouts will run from Tuesday, August 13th – Friday, August 17th from 8:00 – 11:00am. Players must attend all 4 days of tryouts unless they make other arrangements with Coach Chonoles.

BOYS SOCCER: Head Coach Paul Thomas. Email address is pthomas08@me.com Off Season Conditioning starts June 18th and will be every Tuesday and Thursday from 5:00 – 7:00pm. The team camp will be July 22nd – July 25th from 10:00 – 12:00pm at Groves.  Tryouts are Monday, August 12th and Tuesday, August 13th from 10:00 – 12:00pm.  If you have any questions, please contact Coach Thomas.

GIRLS GOLF: Head Coach Marc West. Email address is mwest@birmingham.k12.mi.us  Tryouts begin August 12th and August 13th at the Royal Oak Golf Center 10:00 – 12:00pm.  Practices will begin on Wednesday, August 14th depending on which team they are on.

BOYS BASKETBALL: Head Coach Marc West. Email address is mwest@birmingham.k12.mi.us Off Season Conditioning includes participating in the DC Elite Tournaments every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. The schedule varies.  These dates have been reserved for off season conditioning in the gym: June 11, 20, 21 from 12:00 – 2:00pm. June 22nd – 23rd Grand Valley, June 27th – 28th Oakland University.  Contact Coach West for more information and to answer any questions you may have regarding summer conditioning.

VOLLEYBALL: Head Coach Madison Close. Email address is mclose@birmingham.k12.mi.us Open Gyms begin on July 8th, on Mondays and Wednesdays from 10:00 – 12:00pm until the end of July.  Tryouts are Monday, August 12th – Wednesday, August 14th. Freshman are 3:00 – 5:00, JV and Varsity are 5:00 – 7:00. Your athlete must be at every tryout, unless you make advance arrangements with the coach.

SIDELINE CHEER: Head Coach Danielle Beauregard. Email address is daniellebeauregard706@gmail.com Fall tryouts will be held Monday, August 12th and Tuesday, August 13th from 3:30 – 5:00pm.  To keep up to date, like @groves_cheer on Instagram.

GIRLS SWIM & DIVE: Head Swim Coach Brenden French. Email address is brenden248@gmail.com  Swim practice starts on Monday, August 12th.  For more information on swim practice times, contact Head Coach Brenden French.  Dive Coach Matt Egbers. Email address is matt_egbers@yahoo.com  Dive practice starts on Monday, August 12th and is from 5:30 – 7:30pm. Once school starts, practice times for swim are Monday and Wednesday 5:45 – 7:00am, Monday – Friday 3:00 – 5:30, Saturday 8:00 – 11:00am. Diving is Monday – Friday 5:30 – 7:30, Saturday 8:00 – 11:00.

CROSS COUNTRY: Head Girls Coach Jim Sherman. Email address jsherman@birmingham.k12.mi.us.  Head Boys Coach Derek Puishes. Email address dpuishes@birmingham.k12.mi.us. Captain led practices start July 15 and go Monday – Friday from 8:30 – 10:00am. Meet at Groves’ Track.

POMPON: Head Coach Devyn Simkus. Email address devynsimkus@gmail.com. Summer conditioning dates are: July 9, 23 and August 6, 20 from 5:00 – 7:00pm in the weight room. These are open to anyone interested in participating in Pom in the fall. Contact Coach Devyn for more information regarding Pompon.

WRESTLING: Head Coach Joe Jones. Email address groveswrestling@gmail.com. Summer conditioning starts June 10. Mondays, Tuesday, & Thursdays 5 – 7, Fridays 9 – 11. Be ready to weight lift and learn new skills in the wrestling room. Contact Coach Jones for more information.

GIRLS TENNIS:  JV Coach Brian Eckert. Email address brian.eckert@gmail.com. Summer conditioning is by appointment, please contact Coach Eckert for more information.

BOYS WATERPOLO: Head Coach George Googasian. Email address is georgegoogasian@gmail.com. Tryouts and practices start Monday, August 12th in the pool starting at 5:00. For more information contact Coach Googasian.

BU HOCKEY: Head Coach Zack Warson. Email address is zack.warson@gmail.com. For summer conditioning information please visit the BU Kings website https://www.buvarsity.com/teams/?u=mck1196&s=hockey or email Booster President Jim Walsh at jimwalsh582@gmail.com.

TRACK & FIELD: Head Coach Jason Wilson. Email address is jwilson@birmingham.k12.mi.us. Head Coach Othamian Peterson. Email address opeterson@birmingham.k12.mi.us. Off season conditioning starts June 10th. Track/Jumps: Monday/Wednesday 12:00 – 2:00pm. Discus/Shot Put: Monday/Wednesday 6:00 – 8:00pm. Weight Room Training: Monday/Wednesday 11:00 – 12:00pm. For more information contact either head coach.

GIRLS BASKETBALL: Head Coach Jessica Duleba. Email address is jd7basketball@gmail.com, Off season conditioning dates and times for June are: 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 27, 28, 29 from 10:00 - 12:00pm. June 13, 24 6:00 - 8:00pm. July dates are TBD and may not be published on this website. For more information contact Coach Duleba.

View all Announcements & Events

https://GrovesFalcons.com